Managing what’s mine…

digital assets

DAM.

It’s more than a misspelled swear word.

DAM, it’s good to be back to our regularly scheduled programming.

Yes, I meant to say DAM.

While eight-year- old me is giggling at typing out something so closely resembling a swear word, 20-year -old me sees just an acronym (and also an opportunity for word play, but I digress).

DAM, or Digital Asset Management, is the management, organization and distribution of digital assets from a central repository.

Okay, what’s a digital asset…

A digital asset (eight –year- old me is laughing at how this also closely resembles a swear word) are images, multimedia and textual context files existing in a binary format that come with the right to use.

That last part is important because if something doesn’t have parameters for use, it isn’t considered an asset.

Like in this blog on digital rights management when I showed you how you could determine if you were using someone else’s created content legally and correctly.

How do I start managing my assets?

In that blog, I gave a demo on how to find and understand a photo’s licensing information using Flickr. It just so happens Flickr is a perfect example of digital asset management.

I should say Flickr is a great friend of mine. I’m not looking to make money off of my pictures or anything, they’re free for use. It’s mostly a compilation of pictures I need to be able to access on a computer for academic or professional reasons. Flickr, for me, is quick, efficient and I always know I can access certain pictures in a specific place when my phone’s camera roll just isn’t cutting it.

The point is, even though I’m not posting brilliant photography on there, I can still set parameters for use. Thus making these photos assets.

So, what does a tool like this mean for public relations professionals working within or managing a brand?

Anyone can sign up for Flickr and use it however they like, as long as they have, or create, a Yahoo account.

A company or organization can create one account, give members of their marketing/communications team the login information, and then everyone has access to photographs the content manager has approved to reinforce brand image. Members of the team can then use these photos for assignment as they need.

Other tools can do this, too. Like Hootsuite (specifically its content library), Google Drive, and Dropbox. All of which I am an avid user.

But with Flickr, the brand can set parameters for use on their photos and people outside of the organization can use them, since profiles are public, if they follow the licensing guidelines.

I guess, what I’m getting at is: I’ve got Flickr on the brain. Because the Project Apollo Archive uploaded more than 8,400 photos of NASA’s lunar missions to Flickr earlier this month.

DAM, space is cool.

Leave a Reply

